Finally!!! #48 Harry Potter

20 Nov

It’s here!

And tomorrow I get to see it with 2 of my awesome coworkers.  Don’t worry, I’ve already warned them that I will be entirely geeked out. 

Why aren’t I seeing it with my husband you may be asking?  Well, he wanted to go with his friends and the original plan was to go tonight, but due to sell-outs, Dhubs said we wouldn’t be able to get tickets.  You know how I feel about paying for movies?  Well, Dhubs is like deathly allergic to it.  Anyway, the next time that we could all go to together is Wednesday. 

Do you really think I’d be able to wait that long?  This is my thing!  I’ve been waiting for this movie forever.  There is no way I could wait… I could go again, but that could not be my first time.   To be honest, I had planned on going at least 3 times before Wednesday.  So yeah, I had to go and I’m so excited 2 of my friends wanted to come along. :)

 I celebrated Friday night by making Butterbeer!!


And an incredible Butterbeer Cupcake!!

When I went off to make this cupcake, I started out with an incredibly delicious Butterbeer Cupcake recipe from — sorry my link button is not working at the moment.  And then I sorta tweaked it to be a semi-homemade.

Here’s my version:


  • 1 box yellow butter cake mix
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
    sprinkle of dark brown sugar
    2 large eggs
    1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
    1 teaspoon butter flavoring
    1/2 cup of heavy cream
  • 1/2 cup cream soda
  • Butterscotch syrup


  • For the buttercream frosting:
    1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
    1/3 cup butterscotch ganache
    1 teaspoon vanilla
    1 teaspoon butter flavoring
    1/8 teaspoon salt
    1 16-oz. package powdered sugar
    Splash of milk or cream (as needed)

Dumped cake mix in the mixer and then added all the other ingredients.  I mixed in on low at first and then on high for about 2 minutes.  I then baked according to the cupcake directions on the box.

Once the cupcakes cooled,  I cored a small hole in the middle of each cupcake using a chopstick and squeezed butterscotch syrup into the hole until the cupcakes puffed out a bit.  I cheated again in this step and instead of making butterscotch ganache, I used a butterscotch syrup squeeze bottle from the Ice Cream aisle. 

For the frosting, I followed the original directions. Cream butter in a large bowl then add in syrup, vanilla, butter flavoring, and salt and mix until well combined. I threw all the powdered sugar in at one time and then added a couple splashes of heavy cream and just eye-balled it for the consistency I wanted. 

After frosting the cupcakes, I drizzled with the butterscotch syrup.

2 Responses to “Finally!!! #48 Harry Potter”

  1. Courtney November 23, 2010 at 6:26 pm #

    But how did you make the butterbeer (which I think they could totally market in the stores)?

    • cbar November 24, 2010 at 6:50 am #

      Ahh, the Butterbeer was very simple. I forget how many cups of Cream soda, 6 tablespoons butterscotch schnapps and 1 teapsoon of butter flavoring. Throw in ice and blend in the blender. Then you whip heavy cream with 2 teaspoons of the schnapps and some butterflavoring. Honestly, it wasn’t that great. It could have just been that recipe though. I would have to do more research. :)

Leave a Reply

